ZATSEPIN Georgy Timofeevich
(May 28, 1917 - March 8, 2010).

Academician, Doctor in Physics and Mathematics, Professor (1958).

He worked at the Institute since its foundation, headed the Department of High Energy Leptons and Neutrino Astrophysics.

He was an outstanding scientist with a worldwide reputation, one of the discoverers of electron-nuclear showers in cosmic rays and the nuclear-cascade process as a source of these showers.

He was the author of pioneering works on the passage of ultra-relativistic particles through photon gas;
on the study of the main characteristics of muons and neutrinos of cosmic rays;
on the experimental research of ultrahigh energy muons and their interactions with nuclei;
on some aspects of neutrino astrophysics, related to the study of the mechanisms of generation of high-energy cosmic neutrinos and the detection of neutrino radiation from the collapse of stars in the Galaxy.

He elaborated new methods for detecting solar neutrinos. Under his supervision, a complex of unique underground installations of the Baksan Neutrino Observatory was built, a scientific research program was developed.

He created a world-famous scientific school of theoretical and experimental cosmic ray physics, neutrino physics and astrophysics, and brought up many highly qualified scientists.

His name was included in the INR RAS Book of Honor in 2000.

Awards: Honorary Professor of Moscow State University (1999), Lenin Prize (1982), State Prize (1951), Russian Federation State Prize (1998), B.M. Pontecorvo Prize(2001), O'Kelly Medal (1999), Order of Merit, the IVth degree, Order of the October Revolution, two Orders of the Red Banner of Labor, Academician M.A. Markov prize of INR RAS (2002), Lomonosov Prize (2002), D.V. Skobeltsyn Gold Medal (2005), Honorary Doctor of the Institute of Physics of Turin University (2007), Order of Honor (2008).

WWW.INR.RU 2001 © webmasters